Ubuntu: Terminal transparency issue

Upgraded to Ubuntu 11.10 last month. And i intended to post this back then. But of-course time got the better of me. I kept thinking yesterday was tomorrow. Anyway, lets get on to the issue.

Issue: Transparency in terminal shows the desktop background rather than the window underneath.

SoulMazers Bad terminal
The image above was found in a post by SoulMazer in UbuntuForums.

What i did: Endless Googling for it and looking around in Ubuntu forums is what i did. I even asked the tech guru here for a solution. Tech guru seemed to think it was the Nvidia driver problem. I didnt know where to get it from, so left if for a week. Ubuntu forums kept telling me its the compiz problem.

Finally found my solution at askubuntu.com. Man, i thanked Jonathan a million times(in my mind).

Solution: Paste in terminal: gconftool-2 -s ‘/apps/metacity/general/compositing_manager’ –type bool true

What you have done is enable composting in metacity. This worked for me after the first restart. Hope it does for you too!

About Manu Mohan

Just another 20yr old...With a screwed up college life and feels hes doesn't fit in..:)

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Linux Adventures, Ubuntu and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Cracking your skull open while you hit it on the desk? Let me know about it...

